Scientific Advisory Board

The Scientific Advisory Board consists of six independent, recognized scientists, which together shape a highly important advisory body both for the board of the institute as for the board and the Managing Director of
the KNAW.

The Scientific Advisory Board sees to it that the quality of research at the Netherlands Institute for Neuroscience is maintained. Its primary tasks are:

  • To advise about strategies, conducting policies, and the activities of the institute.
  • To give feedback on the external evaluation report, which is presented every six years, and at midterm evaluation moments.


The Scientific Advisory Board is officially installed by the KNAW and consists of members that come from diverse fields of research of various scientific institutions. The composition of this scientific advisory body is as follows:

Prof. dr. Anna Akhmanova

Professor Cell Biology
Department of Cell Biology
Utrecht University

Prof. dr. Armagan Kocer

Professor Neurobiology of ion channels
Department of Molecular Neuroscience and Aging Research (MOLAR)
University of Groningen

Prof. dr. Diederick van de Beek

Professor Neurological infection and inflammatory diseases
Department of Neurology
AMC, University of Amsterdam

Prof. dr. Simon Fisher

Professor Language and Genetics
Max Planck Institute for Psycholinguistics

Prof. dr. Serge Rombouts

Professor of Methods of Cognitive Neuroimaging 
Institute of Psychology, Methodology & Statistics
LUMC, Leiden University

Prof. dr. Sabine Spijker

Professor of Molecular Mechanisms of Cognition in Neuropsychiatric Disorders
Department of Molecular and Cellular Neurobiology (MCN)
CNCR, VU University Amsterdam